Fort Fredrick in Trincomalee is also known as “the Dutch Fort” as well as “the Trincomalee Fort’, built by the Portuguese in 1624 and captured by the Dutch in 1639. Subsequently, the British and the French captured the Fort before the British recaptured it in 1795 and it continued to be a British stronghold till 1948. There are remains of administrative buildings and coastal artillery guns that were used during the two world wars and these can be seen by visitors. Although Fort Fredrick is currently occupied by Sri Lankan military and government administrative buildings, the visitors need no permission to enter.
Fort Fredrick is located around 1 km from the Trincomalee town. The famous “Koneswaram Temple” is situated on “Swami Rock” in the Fort Fredrick and the famous “Lovers Leap” is located by the Temple. The Fort is fabulous with its green environment, beautiful and breathtaking landscape and the romantic surroundings. It is also home to animals such as spotted deer and different species of birds. Currently, the Sri Lankan Military maintains the fort.