St. Marie's Cathedral, Batticaloa

The St. Mary's Cathedral was built in 1808 by Paschal Mudaliyar. The church became a cathedral after Batticaloa Diocese was formed in the year 2012.

It was in the year 1893 the Trincomalee diocese was acknowledged and then in 1965 the Trinco-Batticaloa diocese was formed comprising churches of the eastern province districts. At this juncture the St. Mary’s Church was named as Co-Cathedral; and became the first Co- Cathedral in Sri Lanka’s church history.

On 3rd July 2012, in keeping with the decision of the Holy Father Benedict, His Archetypal in Sri Lanka, Rev.Dr Joseph Spitteri, declared Batticaloa as a new diocese and ordained Rt. Rev. Dr. Joseph Ponniah as the Bishop of Batticaloa. With this appointment the Co-Cathedral was raised to the rank of Cathedral. Its been a historically important church among the Catholics living in Batticaloa. Christianity was introduced in Batticaloa and Trincomalee by the Portuguese in the 16th century

Read more


Latitude: 7.712344 Longitude: 81.696273 Elevation: 46 ft
the best travel advice comes from the people who live here
Charles Rajendra Moses

Hours Open to Visitation

  • 24/7 for worshipers 
  • In addition to the regular Sunday services special week long colorful feast is celebrated during the first week of August.   

Accessibility Notes

  • Accessible for persons with all abilities.
  • The Cathedral is located in Puliyanthivu next to St. Michel's college
  • Use the side gate if the if the main gate is closed


Leave a Comment